<%@ Language=JavaScript %> ..:: Maryland Int'l Raceway  -  Budds Creek, MD  ::..

Maryland Int'l Raceway  •  27861 Budds Creek Road  •  Mechanicsville, MD  20659

301-884-9833 (Office)  •  301-884-9878 (Fax)  •  info@mirdrag.com

   MIR e-News Headline

Team "Womp & Stomp" Wins 3rd Annual
Team Challenge


June 26, 2012


Press Release courtesy of:  Fabian Brown


Each year the four major sports of the NFL, NBA, NHL and MLB all have their annual drafts to determine which new talent goes to which team. Well Maryland International Raceway had its own version of the draft. For the 3rd annual Team Challenge, racers decided between themselves the members of an 8 driver team composed of any driver from Top, Mod, Motorcycle or Junior Dragster. Once drivers had a team put together, a roster was given to race control along with the team name. The team names consisted of: "Womp & Stomp", "Team Wheelbarrell", "Team Mexican Leafblower", 2011 champions "Yingle's Tingle" and 2010 champions "Team Win Light". A team received one point if any of their drivers won an elimination round, regardless of whether or not the opponent in the other lane was on a team.

As the rounds ticked away, the competition grew ever more intense and fierce with each pass down the track. Even drivers who were not assigned to a team couldn't help but be caught up in the excitement. Each pass down the track had a great effect on the final outcome in points. In Top ET, Todd Nebel from "Team Mexican Leafblower" took an emotional win over Chelsea Derry from "Womp & Stomp." Joined by wife Jennifer, family, friends and teammates, he celebrated the win complete with the official MIR starting line leaf blower in the winner circle photo. Mod ET saw 2010 Mod ET champion Joe Echino take an emotional win of his own. Driving the car driven by the late Ben Goldsmith, he took the win for the first time since the 2010, complete with a call to Ben's wife Janice.

After the dust settled, team "Womp & Stomp" comprised of Steve Cross Sr (Mod), Kelly Clontz (Motorcycle), Matt Smith (Top), Dale Smith (Top), Candi Derry (Top), Chelsea Derry (Top), Bobby Spence (Top) and Will Kivett (Top) came out as the winners of the 2012 MIR Team Challenge, splitting the purse between themselves.

Congratulations also goes to Junior Dragster winner Louie Estevez and new Motorcycle points leader Jeff Sweeney.

Please join us this Friday and Saturday June 29th & 30th for the 3rd annual Legends of Budds Creek, featuring the 2012 Hall of Fame induction, which includes Charlie Yingling, Malcom Durham and more.



          Back   Top  Home


Click here to visit Speed Unlimited - the Official Speed Shop of MIR!





If you plan to shop online at mirdrag.com, please make sure that you have cookies enabled in your browser settings.


This site also requires the Adobe Acrobat & Macromedia Flash plug-in's (free downloads) to be viewed in its entirety.
If you do not have these plug-in's or would like to upgrade your existing versions, please click below...




Copyright 2012 - Maryland Int'l Raceway

Site design and development by Chris Miller  -  cmiller@mirdrag.com