Maryland Int'l Raceway  •  27861 Budds Creek Road  •  Mechanicsville, MD  20659

301-884-9833 (Office)  •  301-884-9878 (Fax)  •

   MIR e-News Headline

Maryland Intíl Raceway Crowns the 2013 Champions


February 21, 2014


Press Release courtesy of:  Robbie Parlett


Maryland Intíl Raceway celebrated its most recent batch of championships at their 2013 Racerís Banquet, held February 15th. Champions from 10 different classes were honored throughout the evening. Team MIR, who won the IHRA Division 1 Bracket Finals for the second consecutive year, were the first group of racers honored.The next batch of champs crowned were the Top ET, Mod ET and Junior Dragster champions of the Autofab Raider ET Series. The Autofab Raider Series is a regional, 4 weekend, 8 race series that takes place at 3 different venues, Virginia Motorsports Park, Richmond Dragway and Maryland Intíl Raceway. The2013 Autofab Raider Junior Dragster champ is Christopher Mattera. Mattera won 3 of the 8 races contested, but none were more important than the last race of the year at his home track of MIR. Christopher had been entangled in a points battle with Jacob Baker that came down to the very last round. Baker had an 18 point lead heading into the semifinals, where he and Mattera met up. Mattera got the best of Baker to pull within one round of the lead with one round to go. Mattera clinched the championship when his opponent turned it -.001 red in the final.

The Autofab Top ET champ is Steve Witherow from Sumerduck, VA. The long time racer clinched his 4th championship in the Raider Series on the final day. Steve took home one race victory in the 8 race series, and used a multitude of deep runs to lock up his second Raider Top ET Championship. For Witherow, this is two in a row; as the multi-talented driver took home the Autofab Raider Series championships in both Top ET and Mod ET in 2012. He also finished in the top 5 in Raider Mod ET points in 2013, but fell short of Ed Talbert who locked up the championship in Mod ET with consistent performances. Although Ed didnít win any of the individual races, he still finished with a 79 point lead over former Raider champ, Seth Phillips. Ed was unfortunately unable to attend the banquet due to surgery to have his appendix removed, but his daughter and teammate Nicole accepted his trophy on his behalf.

Next up, MIR celebrated the championships of their Friday night street car series, Midnight Madness. Three champions were crowned and some familiar faces made their way to the stage. The 2013 Outlaw Drag Radial Champion is Ricky Fox, who is celebrating a "three-peat" with his third championship in a row. His Fulton-powered, nitrous-fueled Mustang regularly laid down times in the 4.40ís, which regularly paced the class. Next up was Chris Little, who repeated as the X275 Drag Radial Champ at MIR. His bright green, turbocharged small block Mustang was the epitome of consistency in the small tire radial class, regularly qualifying in the top 3 with runs in the 4.60ís and low 4.70ís. Little was unable to attend the banquet because the trucking business he owns was extra busy removing snow from the highways after the significant snow the area had just received. The final Midnight Madness champ crowned was Tony Murray. Murray, a long time competitor in Pro Street, a bracket class for street cars running 12.99 and quicker, won the runoff race of all Midnight Madness bracket winners throughout the season to take home the title known as King of the Creek, his first championship at MIR.

Finally, the Speed Unlimited ET Series Champions were crowned. For a handful of years now, MIR has adopted a playoff system, called The Dash, to crown its class champions. The 4 race shootout is made up top 10 finishers in each of MIRís regular season points series. In Motorcycle, Mike Schulz entered The Dash mid pack, but he won the first two races of The Dash to jump to the points lead aboard his Suzuki Hayabusa. Then he made it to his third final of The Dash in the final race of the year to clinch his Speed Unlimited Motorcycle ET Championship. In Junior Dragster, Logan Hubbell was able to take home the 2013 Junior Dragster Championship with some clutch driving at the end of the season. With two races to go, 5 drivers were tightly bunched near the top, but Hubbell solidified himself atop the points with a runner up finish in the penultimate race. He was able to hold on for the championship in his Hubble Motorsports powered Ken Keir Chassis Junior to claim his first points championship of his young career.

In Mod ET, Jake Milstead claimed his first Speed Unlimited ET Series championship with some clutch driving of his own. The two-time ďKing of the CreekĒ found himself 3 rounds behind in a points battle with Bobby Mattera heading into the final race. But Milstead, in his small-block Chevy- powered Ford Mustang, won several key rounds; none more important than a round 3 victory over Bobby Mattera himself. Next he took down Bobbyís brother John Mattera and eventually made it to the final where he had to win to take the championship. In the final round, driving a car that he and his dad had debuted just this year, Jake was .008 on the tree taking .006 at the stripe to clinch the 2013 Speed Unlimited Mod ET Series Championship.

The final champion crowned was Bobby Spence in the Top ET class. Bobby was the runner up in the 2012 points championship and that runner up sparked a streak of runner up finishes that lasted until the last day of the 2013 season. Bobby was runner up at 8 different races throughout the year, claiming zero race wins. He was also the runner up in the Autofab Raider Top ET points. In a season riddled with mechanical issues, including two blown motors, he found himself in a friendís borrowed dragster for nearly the entire second half of the season. In the end, Bobby never did win a race in 2013, but he took home a big victory, clinching the 2013 Speed Unlimited Top ET Championship on the final day of The Dash, proving once again, that consistency really does pay off in bracket racing.


2013 MIR Racer's Party
& Awards Banquet









          Back   Top  Home


Click here to visit Speed Unlimited - the Official Speed Shop of MIR!




Copyright 2014 - Maryland Int'l Raceway

Site design and development by Chris Miller  -