Maryland Int'l Raceway  •  27861 Budds Creek Road  •  Mechanicsville, MD  20659

301-884-9833 (Office)  •  301-884-9878 (Fax)  •

   MDIR e-News Headline

Maryland International Raceway Claims 2017 IHRA Summit Super Series Division 1 Team Championship,

Mike Nelson Jr., Tony Mattera, Chad Burch and AJ Jenkins to Represent Maryland International Raceway at IHRA Summit World Finals in Memphis

October 4, 2017

   Story courtesy of:  Rick Lindner


MECHANICSVILLE, MARYLAND (October 4, 2017) – Team Maryland International Raceway (MDIR) used a group effort and early round push to secure the 2017 IHRA Summit Super Series Division 1 (Patriots) team championship at the event held in Budds Creek. MDIR’s team of forty competitors won the championship finishing the event with 56 points. Capitol Raceway‘s team from Crofton, Maryland finished second with 44 team points, US 13 Dragway’s team located in Delmar, Delaware in third with 38 points, Sumerduck Dragway’s team from Fauquier Country, Virginia in fourth with 27 points and team Richmond Dragway from Richmond, Virginia finished in fifth with 21 points.

Each track was allowed to entry up to forty competitors total between the three classes in competition for the weekend (Top ET, Mod ET and Jr. Dragster). MDIR was represented by 17 competitors in Top ET, 13 in Mod ET and 10 in Jr. Dragster. Each round win tallied by the individual competitors during Sunday’s final eliminations earned the track team one point towards the total. The team with the most round wins (points) at the end of eliminations was crowned the division track champion and each individual class winner also earned a spot to compete in the Summit World Finals held in Memphis, Tennessee October 19-21, 2017

One competitor, AJ Jenkins of Mechanicsville, Maryland would earn his spot in the Summit World Finals using a dominating performance all-day long in Jr. Dragster winning six rounds of competition including a win over Nathan Tanner of Mechanicsville, Virginia competing on behalf of team Richmond Dragway.
While Jenkins would be the only team competitor to win a class on the day, several other competitors had strong performances helping push MDIR to the team championship. In Top ET, Robbie Parlett of Prince Frederick, Maryland would advance five rounds of competition before bowing out in quarter-finals. Reggie Graham of Mechanicsville, Maryland would also advance to the fourth round as well for MDIR.

In Mod ET, Patrick Estevez of White Plains, Maryland won five rounds of competition before going out in the class semi-finals. Teammates Jake Milstead of Mechanicsville, Maryland and John Mattera of Waldorf, Maryland both went four rounds each.

MDIR will send a total of four representatives to the IHRA Summit World Finals in Memphis. Mike Nelson Jr. of Valley Lee, Maryland (Top ET), Tony Mattera of Mechanicsville, Maryland (Mod ET), and Chad Burch of Mechanicsville, Maryland (Hubble Motorsports Jr. Dragster) all earned their spots one week prior by winning the 2017 Speed Unlimited ET Series season track championships along with Jenkins Jr. Dragster win on Sunday.



          Back   Top  Home





Copyright 2015 - Maryland Int'l Raceway, LLC